Stunning shooting at Best in the Field

Best in the field shoot winner

BASC’s Best in the Field Clay Shoot took place at Sporting Targets in Bedfordshire this weekend (19-20 August). The course was set by FITASC World Champion and shooting coach Ed Solomons, incorporating stands which replicated live quarry shooting.

The first ever BASC Best in the Field Clay Shoot drew some fine shooting performances across all categories of the two-day clay competition. The event was designed to be a clay shoot with a difference, with all targets mimicking sporting quarry. This included rabbits, grey squirrels, grouse, and pigeons, shot seated inside a hide.

The winners

Always a prestigious title at any competition, the open-to-all high gun category went to Jake Moore, who scored an outstanding<97/100. Jake took home a Browning Maxus 2, a £300 voucher for, and the use of the new Maxus truck for a week, courtesy of Maxus Northside.

First in the women-only competition was Becky Clifton, who posted 88/100 and took home £500-worth ofBarbour goodies as her reward.
Beating the rest of the competition in the gamekeeper class was Bob Blundell, who shot an excellent 96/100. Bob won a new Alan Paine Rutland Jacket for his efforts.

The high score in the young shot (under 21) category was a fantastic 96/100, shot by Harry Dickens. Harry took home nine different quiller publications and £200-worth of cartridges as his prize.

Parent and child victors were Brian and Connor Hodson with their combined score of 171/200. They won £500 of Barbour goodies, two Browning shooting packages and a Browning bag.

In the team competition, it was the “Hingham group” with a huge collective score of 381/400 who emerged the winners. The team was made up of Jake Moore, Mark Goddard, Carl Hagan and Darren Stanford. All four team members won rugby international tickets for Wales vs Scotland, courtesy of Izuzu, and a bottle of Shots and Company gin each.

Thank you to our sponsors

Thank you to all our 2023 Best in the Field sponsors for their generous support of this year’s competition:

• Browning
• Tyson Cooper
• Quiller Publishing
• Shots and Company
• Shooting Star
• Isuzu
• Alan Paine
• Edwards Eyewear
• Northside Maxus
• Sporting Targets