BASC honours and awards

BASC’s annual honours and awards recognise and reward the hard work of the passionate people within the shooting community who strive to make a difference. There are eight award categories.

How are they judged?

Nominations are submitted to the Honours and Awards Committee which makes recommendations to BASC Council, who then decide which go forward to the AGM.

Honours and awards

Read our explanation of BASC’s honours and awards below:

Honorary Vice President

A lifetime award for individuals of known integrity and stature on the public scene who have shown commitment to BASC and its objectives at a high level. Examples include ex-presidents, senior politicians and people who have served in public bodies, and distinguished professionals who have served publicly over an extended period and with special distinction in support of BASC.

Appointment is confirmed by a vote at the AGM.

Honorary Life Membership

A lifetime award for those of known integrity and stature who have given prolonged and exceptional service in the eyes of fellow members. This award is for those who have served BASC and the membership over an extended period of time. The length of service must extend continuously for more than 20 years and be marked by significant achievements for the benefit of membership, shooting or conservation.

The award is confirmed by a vote at the AGM.

The Distinguished Service Award

Awarded for a significant national contribution to BASC and/or shooting, with no time constraints.

This is a new award and may be presented for a single or short-term event that has provided exceptional benefit for BASC membership, shooting sports or shooting-related conservation projects.

The Payne-Gallwey Long Service Award

Awarded for 20 years or more of local service as an officer of a club or syndicate or for long-term volunteering. The continuous service and the time served are the criteria.

This is a new award which seeks to recognise club secretaries (or other officers of a club or syndicate) who have served continually in post, or volunteers, whose commitment is worthy of recognition.

The Stanley Duncan Conservation Trophy

Presented by the seventh Earl of Leicester to a club, syndicate, group of members, or an individual member who, in the opinion of BASC Council, has contributed most within the preceding three years to highlight BASC’s conservation work.

The Ian Richardson Trophy

Awarded by BASC staff to an individual (not necessarily a member) who, in their opinion, has made a special contribution to the association.

The Tim Sedgwick Trophy

Presented annually to an individual who, in the opinion of BASC Council, has contributed markedly to the fortunes of BASC in the preceding 12 months and who is not a member of Council or any advisory committee.

Special Presentation Award

Presented to both members and non-members, recipients of this award are nominated by BASC council or staff in recognition of special service of any kind and length to the organisation or shooting as a whole.


Do you know someone who deserves special recognition? If you wish to nominate someone for an honour or award please download the below form and return by email to or post to BASC, Marford Mill, Chester Road, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 0HL.
Nominations must be received on or by 25 February 2022.

Get the latest updates from BASC

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

* indicates required