The results of this year’s elections to BASC’s Council  were announced at the association’s Annual General Meeting on Saturday 14th June. Peter Glenser was re-elected and Ian Grindy was elected to council. Alan Balfour, who stood for the Scotland seat on council, was returned unopposed.

The new council then elected Alan Jarrett as chairman and Mike Sherman as vice-chairman.


Alan Jarrett

Alan Jarrett has been a BASC member for 43 years and has previously been chairman and vice-chairman of BASC Council.


Mike Sherman

Mike Sherman is former chairman of the Pembrokeshire Wildfowlers’ Association, vice-chairman of the Dyfi, Mawddach and District Wildfowling Association and chairman of BASC’s Wales Committee.

Peter Glenser

Peter Glenser is a barrister specialising in firearms law. He has been on BASC Council for the last five years.


Ian Grindy

Ian Grindy

Ian Grindy is a retired estates manager and former professional gamekeeper. He has been a BASC member for 30 years.

Alan Balfour

Alan Balfour

Alan Balfour has been BASC’s Scotland committee chairman for five years and is a former club secretary of the Tay Valley Wildfowers Association.


Get the latest updates from BASC

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

* indicates required