Robert Irvine has been re-elected as chairman of BASC’s council at a meeting following the association’s AGM on 13 June. Mike Sherman was re-elected as vice-chairman.

Four new people – Helen Cormack, Michael Smith, Peter Glenser and Alan Balfour – have also been elected to BASC council.

BASC president The Earl of Home chaired the AGM as well as presenting awards to members and those who have made significant contributions to sporting shooting.

The Stanley Duncan Conservation trophy was awarded to the Great Yarmouth Wildfowling and Conservation Association who have worked tirelessly to improve habitat of 26 acres of Fen at Lower Thurlton.

The Ian Richardson Trophy was awarded Johanna Roberson of the Countryside Council for Wales. Special presentations were also awarded to firearms examiner David Pryor, photographer Nick Ridley, Lancashire Police’s wildlife liaison officer Duncan Thomas, artist Simon Trinder and BASC shotgun coaches Edi Albert, Peter Knox, Steve Wilson and Clive Gibbons.

Robin Crossley was presented with a sculpture for his conservation work in North Wales while Simon Cussons was recognised for giving a significant amount of time to steer the centenary programme.

Honorary life memberships were awarded to Derek Jones of the Traeth Bach Wildfowlers, former BASC council member Walter Cole, artist Julian Novorol, Emrys Heard of the Cymdeithas Adara a Chadwaeth Y Fordy Wildfowlers and Huw Trefor Phillips who has spent 25 years as the secretary of the South Wales joint council of wildfowling clubs.

BASC chairman, Robert Irvine, said: "Looking back at our Centenary celebrations, we have cause to be proud. Looking to the present, we are just embarking on a major investment in our Communications Centre that shows us to be confident, successful and effective. Looking to the future, we can only guess as to the detail of the challenges we shall face, but we can be confident that we have laid outstanding foundations from which to face whatever comes our way."


Get the latest updates from BASC

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

* indicates required